Mark Day – Chairman, Non-Grower Director 

Mark Day – Chairman, Non-Grower Director

Mark recently completed three and a half years in Brazil as Operations Director for eight sugar cane factories owned by Bunge Brazil crushing 20 million tonnes of cane producing one million tonnes sugar, one billion litres of ethanol and 500GWh of electricity. Bunge is one of Brazil’s largest cane processors.

Prior to that Mark had an extensive career with CSR/Wilmar in sugar, managing CSR’s Cane sugar businesses as Executive General Manager for six years and two years in Indonesia with Wilmar on expansion opportunities in that region. In CSR he commenced as a shift supervisor in the Mackay region in 1980 and worked through several regions in the Queensland sugar industry prior to working in business development and then general management in CSR Sugar.

He has served as a Director on the Board as STL, BSES, SRI and was also a Director and Chairman of ASMC for a period. He has a Degree in Applied Mathematics and has attended Executive programs at Wharton Business School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Andrew Cappello - Chairman, Mackay Sugar 

Andrew Shane Cappello MAICD

Andrew has been an elected Grower Director since 2001 and has been a cane producer for 29 years. He was appointed Chairman in February 2010. Andrew is also Chairman of the Pioneer Valley Water Board and Chairman of Pioneer Valley Water Co-operative.

He is a Director of the Australian Sugar Milling Council, Sugar Terminals Limited and the Queensland Co-operative Federation, an alternate Director of Sugar Australia Pty Limited and New Zealand Sugar Company and a Mackay Sugar representative on the Board of Mackay Area Productivity Services Pty Limited and a former Director of the Australian National Committee for Irrigation and Drainage.

Lee Blackburn - Director, Mackay Sugar 

Lee Blackburn GAICD – Grower Director

Lee was appointed as a Grower Director in October 2014. He has been a grower for 20 years and has been managing the family farm and harvesting business since 2002. Lee is a Director of Mackay Area Productivity Services, a former Director of Mackay Canegrowers Limited and former member of the Canegrowers Mackay Area Committee.

Lawrence Bugeja, GAICD Grower Director, Mackay Sugar 

Lawrence Bugeja GAICD - Grower Director

Lawrence was appointed as a Grower Director in October 2013. He has been a cane farmer for more than 36 years and has been managing the family farm and harvesting business since 1987. He isa Director of the Mackay Area Productivity Services (MAPS) and Deputy Chairman of the Pioneer Valley Water Board. He is a former Director of both Mackay Canegrowers Limited and Queensland Canegrowers Organisation Limited and was also a member of the Marian Mill Suppliers Committee and the Canegrowers Mackay Area Committee.

In 2007, he became a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

Paul Manning - Director, Mackay Sugar 

Paul Manning GAICD – BEng (Mech), Dip Ag. – Grower Director

Paul is a third generation cane farmer and was elected to the Board as a Grower Director in October 2014. Paul returned to cane farming in 2010 after working as a professional engineer for approximately 20 years, predominantly in the West Australian Iron Ore mining industry. During this period he worked in a variety of maintenance, major project management and engineering management roles for BHP Billiton Iron Ore and in a project role for Sinclair Knight Merz.

Maurice Maughan - Director, Mackay Sugar 

Maurice Clement Maughan FCA FTIA JP (C.dec) - Non-Grower Director

Maurice Maughan became a Director of Mossman Mill on 9th November, 2007. In 2006, after 31 years, he retired from the international accounting firm KPMG as a partner. Maurice was responsible for providing advice to a number of companies including those in the Queensland sugar industry. He has extensive business experience as a result of his time with KPMG and remains actively involved as a Director or advisor to several companies.

Richard Findlay – Non-Grower Director 

Richard Findlay – Non-Grower Director

Richard has an extensive background in agribusiness and food manufacturing holding senior executive positions at Goodman Fielder, George Weston Foods, Sunbeam and Manassen Foods Groups.

His most recent senior roles were Chief Executive Officer of Sunbeam Foods Group and Chief Operating Officer/Director of Manassen Foods. He is currently a Director of a private Tasmanian food group.

Anthony Bartolo - Grower Director 

Anthony Bartolo - BCom DipFS FCPA GAICD JP - Grower Director

Tony is a third generation BMP accredited farmer. He was re-elected to the Board as a Grower Director in October 2018, having previously been on the Board from 2010 to 2014. He has over 30 years of accounting experience including 13 years as a Partner at DGL Accountants where he retired from Public Practice in 2013. He was granted Fellowship of CPA Australia in 2007 and in 2012 became a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Tony is also a Director on the Board of Sugar Terminals Limited.

His previous roles include the Boards of LMA Eton Irrigation Scheme and several local not-for-profit community organisations.